top of page
  • Writer's pictureRikki Eskelund

How to plan a successful wedding

Although I am a Public Relations student one of my long term goals is to be a full time event planner! I love everything that comes with planning events, particularly weddings. Working with people, organizing vendors, making decorations and bringing a visions to life give me such joy! Over the past three years I have had the opportunity to coordinate multiple weddings and I've learned some helpful tips along the way.


The first thing to remember is communication is key! Although this can be said of pretty much everything, it is essential to understand exactly what the bride wants. This also includes the specific duties she wants you to perform. Some brides want the coordinator to make all the decisions while others like to have the final say. It is important to lay out these parameters before you get into planning to avoid any conflicts down the road.


Staying organized is also critical! Find some method that works for you and stick to it. You might be an old fashioned pen and paper type who carries around a folder or maybe you utilize some type of online platform. Recently I discovered Trello, a communication app for the desktop and phone, which has been very helpful for keeping track of what has been accomplished and what is still left to do. It also allows you to upload documents, photos, and create checklists to keep track of everything!


Always be learning! Even if you have some experience under your belt there is always more to learn. I utilize podcasts to keep my brain active and constantly be engaged. They are easy to listen to while I am in the gym or driving and I always come across helpful tips that make event planning easier. It is great to learn from someone else's mistake before you make the same one!


The most important part of event planning is to have fun. It's easy to get caught up in the emotion and stress of a wedding day but in the end it is just a day. When you look back you don't want to remember how stressed or upset you were but rather moments like the look on the bride's face as she walked down the aisle or the joy of seeing families come together. Weddings are beautiful events but having so many family and friends together at one time can be major stress factors for the bride and groom. As a coordinator make sure you remain that steady presence for your bride and enjoy every moment!

Chalkboards I made for the first wedding I coordinated

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page